Incognito/private browsing is a feature in all mainstream browsers which when started, creates a temporary session that is completely confined from the main session so that it does not save any data.

It creates a clean slate new session of your browser not influenced by any form of saved information that your browser may have. It doesn't make you anonymous online or provide additional security.

Situations where you may use incognito/private browsing:

  • Accessing a site with multiple accounts
  • Checking/testing when saved information (e.g. cookies and cache) might be affecting website access
  • Removing a record of visiting a website
  • When using someone else's device

Once you exit all your private/incognito browsing windows, the following won't save:

  • Information you entered in forms
  • Permissions you give websites
  • Your browsing history
  • Your cookies and site data

Instructions for Google Chrome

Windows and Mac

  1. Click the three dots in the upper-right corner of your browser to open the menu.
  2. Click on New Incognito Window. Alternatively, you can use the keyboard shortcut Ctrl+Shift+N on Windows or Cmd+Shift+N on a Mac.
  3. A new dark grey incognito window will open.
  4. Close the window to exit incognito mode.

Android and iOS

  1. Tap the three dots in the upper right-corner of your browser to open the menu.
  2. Tap New incognito tab from the menu options.
  3. To exit incognito mode either tap the box with a number in it (indicating how many tabs you have open) in the upper-right corner and navigate back to a non-private tab or alternatively close the incognito tab/s.

Instructions for Mozilla Firefox

Windows and Mac

  1. Click the three lines in the upper-right corner of your browser to open the menu.
  2. Click New Private Window. Alternatively, you can use the keyboard shortcut Ctrl+Shift+N on Windows or Cmd+Shift+N on a Mac.
  3. A new purple private browsing window will open.
  4. Close the window to exit private browsing mode.

Android

  1. On the Firefox home screen tap the mask button in the upper-right corner of the screen.
  2. To exit private browsing mode, tap the box with a number in it (indicating how many tabs you have open) in the upper-right corner and navigate back to a non-private tab or alternatively close the private tabs.

iOS

  1. Tap the box with a number in it (indicating how many tabs you have open) in the bottom right-corner of the screen.
  2. Tap the mask button to switch to private browsing then tap the plus (+) icon to open a private tab.
  3. To exit private browsing mode, tap the box with a number in it (indicating how many tabs you have open) in the bottom right-corner and navigate back to a non-private tab or alternatively close the private tab/s.

Instructions for Internet Explorer

  1. Click the gear icon in the upper right-corner.
  2. Click Safety > InPrivate Browsing. Alternatively, you can use the keyboard shortcut Ctrl+Shift+P.
  3. A new InPrivate browsing window will open. Internet Explorer will indicate it’s in InPrivate mode with a blue box labelled 'InPrivate' next to the URL location bar.
  4. Close the window to exit InPrivate browsing mode.

Instructions for Microsoft Edge

  1. Click the three dots in the upper-right corner.
  2. Click New InPrivate window. Alternatively, you can use the keyboard shortcut Ctrl+Shift+P.
  3. A new dark grey coloured InPrivate browsing window will open and each tab will say 'InPrivate'.
  4. Close the window to exit InPrivate browsing mode.

Instructions for Safari

  1. Click the File menu in the upper-left corner > Click New Private Window. Alternatively, you can use the keyboard shortcut Cmd+Shift+N.
  2. A new private browsing window will open. The URL location bar will be greyed out and a band across the top of the new tab window will indicate you are in private browsing mode.
  3. Close the window to exit private browsing mode.

iOS

  1. Tap the new tab icon in the lower-right corner of the screen.
  2. Tap the Private button in the lower-left corner. The browser should turn grey and will advise you that you’re in private browsing mode.
  3. To exit private browsing mode, tap the Done button in the lower-right corner.
Last updated 23/11/2021 03.45 PM

Did this answer your question?