When you are sharing a folder with someone using Syncplicity Sync & Share, the folder on the other person's computer/device will look the same as the folder on your computer or device. If one person's copy of a shared folder changes, for example when a file is created, modified, or deleted, the other person's copy of the shared folder will be changed as well.
By sharing folders you can avoid emailing large files or sensitive information, and it makes file collaboration with colleagues easier and more secure.
Share a folder with a number of different people using Syncplicity Sync & Share:
- Make sure that all the people you want to share the folder with already have either a University of Otago or public Syncplicity account
- Find out which user security group your Syncplicity account belongs to by contacting AskOtago, as this may restrict who you can share folders with.
Tel +64 3 479 7000 or 0800 80 80 98
See the different Syncplicity User Security Policy Groups
- In Syncplicity, right- or Ctrl-click the folder you want to share, and choose Share
- You will be redirected to the My.Syncplicity website. Enter the names of the people you want to share the folder with and what role (editor or reader) they will have on the shared folder, then click Done
The people you share with will automatically be sent a link to the folder.